A packed house greeted an all-star lineup at this year’s annual awards banquet.

There were numerous highlights throughout the evening starting with a spectacular rendition of the National Anthem by Grammy Award winning artist Jim Peterik and Chicago’s own Lisa McClowry and capped off by Hall of Famer Andre Dawson, who held the audience spellbound!

Award Winners

  • Guest of Honor: Hall-of-Famer Andre Dawson
  • Lou Boudreau Hall of Fame Inductee: David Dombrowski, President and General Manager, Detroit Tigers
  • Chicago Area Major League Player of the Year: Curtis Granderson, New York Yankees
  • Jerome Holtzman Award presented by The Chicago Baseball Museum: Minnie Minoso, Chicago White Sox
  • Dizzy Trout Baseball Ambassador Award: Roland Hemond, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Mary Frances Veeck Woman of the Year: Mrs. Jenny Dempster, Chicago Cubs and Dempster Family Foundation
  • Harry Caray Sportscaster of the Year: Dan Roan, WGN Television
  • Nick Kamzic Scout of the Year: Kris Gross, St. Louis Cardinals
  • Bill Gleason Sportswriter of the Year: Scott Merkin, MLB.com
  • Major League Executive of the Year: Doug Melvin, Milwaukee Brewers
  • Minor League Executive of the Year: Bill Waliewski, Joliet Slammers
  • Chicago Area Minor League Player of the Year: Casey Crosby, Detroit Tigers
  • Chicago Area College Player of the Year: Jeff Holm, Michigan State University
  • Chicago Area Amateur Coach of the Year: Justin Fleener, Teutopolis Wooden Shoes
  • Bo Jackson Courage Award: Jack Deheer, Roy Hobbs Baseball
  • Len DiForte Amateur Baseball Service Award: Al Budding
  • Charlie Hum Club Service Award: Jim Hall
  • Pitch & Hit Club President’s Award: Old Timers Baseball Association of Joliet